Latest Myopia News

Euclid Vision Names First Recipients of Resident Scholarship Award

December 6, 2022

STERLING, Va. — Euclid Vision Corp. has announced the inaugural recipients of its Resident Scholarship Award, which recognizes innovation in myopia management and orthokeratology. Optometry Residents Zachary Reynard, OD, University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Optometry; Kevin Feng, OD, Pennsylvania College of Optometry (PCO), Salus University; and Cindy Shan, OD, Northeastern State University Oklahoma, College of Optometry (NSUOCO), were each awarded $1,000 for their myopia-related educational projects. 

Euclid’s President and CEO Joseph Boorady presented the awards to (l-r) Zachary Reynard, Kevin Feng, and Cindy Shan.

Dr. Reynard’s winning entry addressed the use of OrthoK lenses in adults in a poster entitled, “Ortho-K is Growing Up: Treating Adult Refractive Error with Orthokeratology.” His case report featured Euclid MAX OrthoK lenses in an adult patient who had become intolerant of day wear soft contact lenses. Dr. Feng submitted an IRB-approved research study entitled, “The Basis of Corneal Biomechanics in Overnight Orthokeratology,” analyzing the relationship between corneal biomechanics and their effect on vision and corneal reshaping. Dr. Shan’s submission, entitled “Comparison of Treatment Zone Size in Two Orthokeratology Lenses,” described a case study of an adult patient transitioning out of corneal refractive therapy (CRT) lenses and into Euclid MAX Toric OrthoK lenses.  

“We are proud to recognize and celebrate these brilliant young optometrists, and we look forward to rewarding innovative thinkers with this scholarship for years to come,” said Jane Beeman, FCLSA, NCLEM, Global Director of Clinical and Scientific Affairs.

Euclid is currently seeking submissions for the 2022-2023 Euclid Resident Scholarship Awards: the Tim Koch Memorial Scholarship ($1,000); the George E. Glady Scholarship ($1,000), and the Joann Simonsen Scholarship ($1,000). Abstracts or proposals must be submitted by December 31, 2022. For more information, contact

To Top